Perth-WRX.com

Perth-WRX.com (http://www.perth-wrx.com/vb/cmps_index.php)
-   General Subaru Discussion (http://www.perth-wrx.com/vb/general-subaru-discussion/)
-   -   What boost?? (http://www.perth-wrx.com/vb/general-subaru-discussion/7019-what-boost.html)

wannabe 29-08-2006 11:08 AM

What boost??

hi, im very new to the world of wrx's and turbo's. i had a look thru but couldnt see any other thread so i apoligise if this has been asked before which it probably has :o .
i just bought a 1997 WRX hatch, the motor seems std ( as in no filter mods, no aftermarket BOV etc ) but has a 3" turbo back exhaust. inside it has a blitz turbo timer that also has a boost controller option ( but i cant figure out how to change it and the book is all japanese, not one english word except BLITZ!! :) ). the boost gauge reads 9psi on full throttle and on a cold night i think it hit 10psi. what is the std boost they usually run and what can i safely run without going overboard ( as in regards to compensating for any spikes that may happen and not blowing up the turbo/engine )???? :confused:
thanks for any help in advance ;)

Adr3naL1N 29-08-2006 11:35 AM

i think its something like 12.75 or sumething?? sum1 can clarify, but yeah if ur running at 9-10 its def under. With the car you have i wouldnt boost iot over 15psi especially with a manual boost controller as you will get spikes, boost cut is at 17psi and you dont wanna hit it, it gives a sudden jolt to ya car and doesnt feel good. So yeah 15psi n you should be right, just t obe safe from spiking boost.

wannabe 29-08-2006 11:43 AM

cheers for that, looks like ill have to find out why its so low then hey?? doesnt smoke from exhaust and sounds fine engine wise. thanks again, will look into it some more. :D

jester 29-08-2006 12:11 PM

also depands on what model turbo as to to what standard boost it comes with.