Perth-WRX.com  

Go Back   Perth-WRX.com > General WRXing > General Subaru Discussion > Insurance Experiences
Register Diddy Kart ArticlesAll AlbumsBlogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Welcome to Perth-WRX, click here to register!

Like Tree71Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-02-2014, 11:20 PM
STI Master

Slap Dash knows their stuff

I've gloated enough about how much I pay per Month/Year for my Insurance with RAC

But yes cannot highly recommend them enough.Also while I'm here FYI, I got advised this week the RAC as of the 9th of February are changing their policy from 30% agreed value on top of Market Value, changing to 50%. So if you want to make sure you get the right value for your car in the event of an incident. Call them on the Monday 10/2 to increase your agreed Value by that extra 20% (This will increase your premium but only by a small amount).

Now regarding the recent question, as far as I'm made aware (remember I work in IT not insurance) the RAC only cares how much power you make over stock quoted figured.

The RAC has a certain percentage (%) it deems acceptable. They base these figures on the quoted power from the manufacture, which AFAIK is from the crank/flywheel. Were you to advise your dyno made less or slightly more than the quoted amount ATW/ATH & it fell within what they deemed an acceptable tolerance of increase, you should be fine.
grumpyrex and RJ999 like this.

Having a modern day PC without an SSD is like hiring a hooker for hugs.......

Last edited by Slap Dash; 06-02-2014 at 11:21 PM.
Old 06-02-2014, 11:28 PM
Subaru Tech Division

RJ999 at standard level

Trav- So do you quote dyno kw to them if they dont ask? It makes no sense quoting less than stock kw which is atw LOL...

The question they ask is "did the mods increase the hp rating of your car?" Answer would be "no" as long as you're not over the stock ~210kw (doesn't matter wheel or fwheel, they don't ask and dont specify wheel or fwheel hp!)