Perth-WRX.com

Perth-WRX.com (http://www.perth-wrx.com/vb/cmps_index.php)
-   Mechanicals (http://www.perth-wrx.com/vb/mechanicals/)
-   -   Anyone got a twin plate clutch? (http://www.perth-wrx.com/vb/mechanicals/21428-anyone-got-twin-plate-clutch.html)

adamh 08-08-2008 05:59 PM

Anyone got a twin plate clutch?

Hey people,

My clutch is shot. Had a heavy duty organic in there for less than a year. I'm a pretty tame driver in comparison to most and yet it didn't take long for the clutch to go. So I want to upgrade.

So I'm researching other options and have sourced a lot of info from old posts. I had decided upon a twin plate, utill I had a conversation with a mechanic I was recomended to speak to. He said it would be a bitch to drive on the road.

Has anyone here got a twin plate clutch? What do you think of it? If I could organise for someone to let me drive tamely up and down the road to see what it is like for normal driving, that would be ideal (but unlikely I guess).

Currently have a PPG/helical straight cuts, 340hp atw (goal is 400hp, for weekends/cruises/kwinana).

I don't want to be changing the clutch every 6 months.

trainwrex 08-08-2008 06:22 PM

I have a tilton twin plate.. and absoulute bitch to drive slowly especially on a hill its either in or out. And itcomes with a lightened flywheel so makes driving much harder.

but it holds nearly 600 hp atw time after time no slippage..

Talk to sean at asg apparently hes running a more friendlier twin plate..

Sethor 08-08-2008 06:26 PM

If your car is a daily don't even bother with the twin plate. I currently run a brass button, its holding up quite well and being easier to live with than the Excedy 5 puk organic crap I previously which only lasted about 4-6 months.

trusti rex 08-08-2008 06:49 PM