Perth-WRX.com

Perth-WRX.com (http://www.perth-wrx.com/vb/cmps_index.php)
-   Mechanicals (http://www.perth-wrx.com/vb/mechanicals/)
-   -   Johns 207 build (http://www.perth-wrx.com/vb/mechanicals/45790-johns-207-build.html)

johnvk7 25-10-2010 09:21 PM

I'm still learning with the tuning, my cars a bit of guinea pig, the thing is, with open source tuning is its not real time, you have to read the ROM, make changes, reflash, then drive it or dyno and check the results, very drawn out process.

American Dave 25-10-2010 09:31 PM

yep I understand the process but are you using other peoples roms and just tweaking it or are you starting from stock rom and doing it all yourself ?

Mister Two 25-10-2010 09:32 PM

Well done. Do you use wide band sensor and knock amp?

johnvk7 26-10-2010 07:30 PM

[QUOTE]yep I understand the process but are you using other peoples roms and just tweaking it or are you starting from stock rom and doing it all yourself ?[/QUOTE]

I've done it all myself, like i said, the car and ROM were completely stock when I bought it I've looked at a few other ROMS, but I found it easier to do it myself as every cars different. I need to buy a wideband EGO sensor so i can go further. As for the the knock amp, I can get a pretty good idea of any knocking when i log data, the factory knocking correction system is pretty good. I know there heaps more in the car as it is, having driven quite a few cars with Ecutek, just need to buy the wideband and take the next step. I need to get on a dyno too, just a bit safer then flying around back streets.

RUSSGT 27-10-2010 09:48 AM

haha tuning without a wideband or knock amp.

Oh so are these customers cars you take for a fang with the ECUtek?

No wonder I will never take my car to Subaru or any Dealer for servicing! Little pimply faced punks thrash your car trying to learn "Tuning".

johnvk7 27-10-2010 12:03 PM