Perth-WRX.com

Perth-WRX.com (http://www.perth-wrx.com/vb/cmps_index.php)
-   Non-WRX Discussion (http://www.perth-wrx.com/vb/non-wrx-discussion/)
-   -   Customs Fees (http://www.perth-wrx.com/vb/non-wrx-discussion/30798-customs-fees.html)

Mike 13-12-2009 04:19 PM

Customs Fees

Hey guys,

I'm bringing in a few things from America and I was just wondering what the go is with Customs and any fees. The most expensive thing is around $1300.

Are all the customs fees included in the postage costs or will I have to pay extra once they land in Australia?

I'm new to all of this and have absolutely no idea what I'm doing. :D Any insight or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,
Mike

jezzamcbezza 13-12-2009 04:30 PM

Any imports (same package, same supplier) over $1000AUD will attract customs duties + broker/processing fee ($49ish) + 10% GST on top of the lot.

Bunch of blood sucking leaches apparently some people say

Mike 13-12-2009 04:33 PM

Well that won't be too bad. If I order everything separately only one package will exceed $1000AUD. But there will be a few packages from the one supplier. I take it that's no big deal?

apg39 13-12-2009 04:41 PM

They might think it's drugs and you'll end up on border security Mike.

I don't imagine it would be that big of a deal, but one individual package + fees may be cheaper than postage on a few individual things.

Mike 13-12-2009 04:50 PM

If they do think it's drugs and interrogate me, you can be my boss ;)

Yeah I need to work all that out, but I think two individual packages will be cheaper.

nicecar 13-12-2009 04:52 PM

Ask supplier to put $1000 for everything? A few companies for states have done it for me in past...including a set of rims. Otherwise do seperate postage, get supplier to put $1000 on the invoice for the $1300 thing, fees > postage costs.

I went through customs etc once, was a piece of shit.

Mike 13-12-2009 05:52 PM