Thread: 07 wrx tune
View Single Post
Old 11-12-2012, 12:55 AM
Flat Four Father

mao at standard level

Then you have completely misunderstood me as I do not see it as a urinal pee contest. I dont live in forums, as I do have other commitments and responsibilities. However, I will always try to answer as best as I can, when time allows.

You mentioned Torque as the element to look for. I disagree as Hp is just as the same and as important. Hp is directly proportionate to torque.
Horsepower = Torque X RPM / 5252
(Apologies again if I do not give you the formulas in metric, as I studied this is the US and I am already used to it and am sure a simple conversion won't hurt.)

Tuning is both mathematical and methodical. A smart 10yr old can easily tune AFRs on a PC by using Pg+ or Pg- and watch the Lambda meter. I strongly believe a sound understanding of both is necessary to achieve a good tune.

I disagree that it is ' it is just a 2D graph'. My reasoning: How many times are you on WOT in a day?

Dynapack does not plot 3D graphs, and I have chosen a BSFC,
Brake Specific Fuel Consumption and BSAC, Brake Specific Air Consumption.

BSFC is a measure of an engine's efficiency. and is correlated to hp. BSFC says an engine will produce a given amount of horsepower, using a certain amt of fuel.

Both Torque, HP and Volumetric efficiency are correlated to both BSFC and BSAC.

I have chosen a plot of a Ducati 848 to depict this as this is available online and is independent info. Area above the graph can be seen at the circled places below WOT. Even at 80% OT, power and torque was laying off already..