Perth-WRX.com  

Go Back   Perth-WRX.com > Off Topic Discussions > Photography and Media
Register Diddy Kart ArticlesAll AlbumsBlogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Welcome to Perth-WRX, click here to register!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-02-2007, 11:28 PM
STI Master

methd at standard level
Send a message via MSN to methd
Default How to do an HDR image...

Intro:
I've been doing HDRs for only a few months, but I've tried at least 30-40 images in that time.

Basically HDR stands for High Dynamic Resolution/Range. It's all about taking many of the SAME shots at different exposure and then overlaying the shots to create one. From the 'many' shots, only the properly exposed parts of the photo is used, and the rest is discarded. For this reason, a tripod is a must and overlay will not work unless pretty much every pixel lines up. Some ppl experiment with changing exposure via RAW exposure software, but it doesn't work (as well).

The human eye's dynamic resolution is massive and that's why we can see the bright sky AND dark shadows without one being overexposed or other being underexposed. Unfortunately camera sensors aren't as good, and the only way we can achieve this is to use HDR.

Number of shots and metering:
The minimum number of shots taken is two, but I usually do 3, 5, 7 or even 9 shots. Depending on the number of shots, I bracket the ev compensation with less ev for more shots.

Bracketing is done via camera controls and most canon/nikons have the feature albeit 3 shots for most entry level DSLRs. I'm not sure about Canon, but Nikon have a 'BKT' button which you depress and then spin the thumb dial to choose the number of shots. The forefinger dial is used to set the amount of ev to space it out across. If you don't have this feature, then you can do it manually and expose for different parts of the photo, (remember to not move that tripod).