Perth-WRX.com  

Go Back   Perth-WRX.com > General WRXing > Introductions
Register Diddy Kart ArticlesAll AlbumsBlogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Welcome to Perth-WRX, click here to register!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 25-07-2007, 09:12 AM
Scoobie Noobie

Juffy at standard level
Send a message via MSN to Juffy
Default Wannabe WRX...

Hi all,

I currently own everyone's favourite wannabe WRX, an RS bugeye, which was last seen here:

...yeah.

Thermostat failed, coolant boiled off and engine cooked itself while I blissfully didn't look at my temperature gauge. Motor's not seized, but it needs a full rebuild at a minimum.

I signed up here to tap the collective wisdom about doing a WRX conversion, using (if I can find one) a bugeye or later front cut. I've got a couple of feelers out to try and find a decent EJ25 as a cheap option, but I figure it's worth at least exploring the idea of dropping an EJ20T in.

I'm not a complete mechanical noob (I've stripped and rebuilt a Corolla engine from the crank) and have access to a couple of other like-minded people, but this would be by far the biggest job I've tried. Looking at Jester's RETSEJ project frankly scares the crap out of me - if I use another Impreza engine of the same approximate vintage, can I get away without having to strip my wiring loom etc?

Thoughts? Opinions? Forecasts of doom? Anything welcome.

cheers,
Paul
Old 25-07-2007, 09:17 AM
Sir AntiLag

BrennyV at standard level

Hey mate, welcome. Sorry to hear about your misfortune.
There would be no cheep way out of this if you want upgrade it to a wrx spec.

I would recommend going to a few auctions and try and pickup a damaged gda impreza cheep and swap all the running gear etc over. Engine wiring will basicly be a direct swap over with minimal headaches

My 2c worth anyways.
Old 25-07-2007, 09:24 AM
The Modulator

American Dave is a guruAmerican Dave is a guru